DD-WRT on a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND

A year ago I’ve wrote a post about my experiences with the OpenWRT on a TP-Link TL-WR842ND, now it’s the time to mention DD-WRT.

I have a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v1 now, and had the same issues with the factory firmware as with my old router.

TL-WR1043ND_1600x1600
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND

OpenWRT was an option to have on the 1043ND, but I had some issues which I couldn’t fix (WAN port problem), so I’ve decided to give DD-WRT a try. I wasn’t disappointed 🙂

Képkivágás

The functionality is very similar to OpenWRT, however you require less experience in IT to set it up correctly, so I would defiantly recommend this for those who want an easy to set up and yet very stable custom firmware.

Képkivágás2

I’m using DD-WRT on both of my routers for a whole year now. Never had a single crash or slowdown.

You can try it out if you go to the official website: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/index, look for your router model, then upload the image through the web-interface and let it reboot. After a couple of basic settings you are good to go. If you don’t like it for some reason you can always revert back to the original firmware.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.